Main Page

Historical Kyiv and Conference Palace

Welcome to Kyiv, the capital of Ukraine, with ancient historical traditions, unique culture and European-style of life.

Kyiv is one of the most beautiful cities of the world that picturesquely spreads on the Dnipro river hills. As others old cities Kyiv has no exact date of foundation. According to the legend, Kyiv was founded more than 1,500 years ago by three brothers Kyi, Schek, Khoryv and their sister Lybid. The city was named after the oldest brother Kyi. In the 9th century Kyiv became the capital of the Ancient Rus. The territory of this independent state stretched out from the Baltic Sea in the North to the Black Sea in the South and from Volga River in the East to the Carpathians Mountains in the West. Kyiv is often referred as "the mother of all cities" by Russians and Ukrainians and as a cradle of Slavonic civilization.

Since then, Kyiv has developed into an important center of East Europe attracting foreign businesses and investors to its economic and natural potential. Considering population Kyiv is among the 10 largest cities of Europe. Its historical path is related to the great political and cultural events in Europe and represented in many age-old architectural monuments. 2148 objects of history and culture are located on the territory of Kyiv. Among them are over 100 museums 33 theatres and theatres-studios 53 cultural buildings 140 libraries, 20 concert organizations and independent musical collectives that are working in the capital of Ukraine.

Symposium will take place at the CONFERENCE PALACE that is widely used for education and different scientific conferences. Conference palace conprises two main conference halls that can fit up to 500 and 150 listeners respectively. Both halls are equipped with modern presentation technique that allows to make multimedia presentations. The conference palace is situated next to the "Salute" hotel.

We propose for our participants to stay at hotel “Salute” next to the Conference Palace.

The hotel can be easily reached by car and public transport. “Arsenalna” subway station is located not far from hotel. Boryspil International Airport is conveniently located on the outskirts of the city and can be reached by car in 30 minutes, and the way to the railway station takes not longer then 15 minutes. The hotel “Salute” is well positioned for shopping and provides ample choice of surrounding restaurants and cafes. Hotel is also located near the underground shopping centre.

Organizations also can offer to reserve apartments at the hotel “Salute” If you would like to choose another hotel, you may use the following link:

The Conference Palace is situated in one of the oldest parts of Kyiv – the Pechersk. There are abundant buildings here that represent Ukrainian baroque style (19th-early 20th centuries) with its color contrasts, white facades and green roofs.

There are many historical places and architecture monuments located around the Conference Palace.

In park zone, close to the Conference Palace, there is the monument of St. Apostle Andrew who brought the Christianity to the place which was destined to become the city Kyiv. Near this monument is the monument of Askold Tomb.

As legend says, in 882 prince Oleg arrived to the Kyiv and killed Kyiv kings Askold and Dir in the nearby wood on the Dnipro banks and took the Kyiv throne. In 1810 on this place, was built a new stone church-rotunda which was later turned into a park pavilion. Picturesque, legendary place kept on attracting the attention of both Kyiv resident and its guests. The Ukrainian poet Shevchenko reproduced Askold Tomb in one of his numerous works of paint art.

In 10 minutes walk from the Conference Palace is Great Belltower (Belfry) of Pecherska Lavra Monastery - a symbol of spiritual power and architectural challenge. It was founded in 1051 by the monks Anthony and Feodosiy as an underground cave monastery. Since the foundation it became the greatest spiritual, politic and cultural center. Most of the buildings in the Monastery date from the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries but still there is one church in the Monastery that has been preserved from the twelfth century with very few architectural changes introduced since that time. The territory of Lavra is 28 hectares and includes complex of temples, kilometers of caves with underground churches, and unique museums such as the Museum of historical treasures, the Museum of the Book and printing, the Museum of the Ukrainian decorative-applied art and many others. It is almost a miracle that it has survived as the Monastery itself throughout numerous historical events and many crippling misfortunes. This greatest monument is a national heritage site and one of the four UNESCO World heritage site within Ukraine. The complex serves as the official residence of Metropolitan the head of the Ukrainian Orthodox Church.

On the south from Kyivo-Pecherska Lavra you can see the blue domes dotted with gold stars and gold crosses of the churches in the Vydubytsky Monastery. The Monastery is located at the foot of the Dnipro hills. It was found by Kyiv’s Prince in 1070-88 years. Many legends of Orthodoxy history is bound up with this place. During its long history, the monastery has seen and suffered numerous fires, inundations and even a collapse. Contemporary ensemble of Vydubytsky monastery formed in late-17th-early 18th centuries. Today Vydubytsky monastery is declared one of the most worthy monuments, and one of the masterpieces of Ukrainian baroque.

Also, Kyiv is often referred to as one of the most green world cities. City has always been famous for its large number of parks, squares and boulevards. The symbol of Kyiv, the chestnut leaf, is not in vain.

Conference palace is also situated not far from the oldest central park – Mariinsky. The park was founded in early 18th centuries and forms chain of open alleys. It is placed on the pictorial hills along the right coast of the river Dnipro and has lot to offer to nature admirers. There are marvelous vistas that open on the river, islands and left Dnipro bank from the park. This place is majestic in all seasons, but it becomes especially beautiful in autumn when the trees on Dnipro hills turn in a wide range of colors from yellow to deep crimson. The decoration of this park is gorgeous blue-and-cream palace designed by Bartolomeo Rastrelli. Mariinsky Palace was built in 1750 and used as Kyiv residence of the Tsar family. Facades and interiors of the palace impress with luxury of furnish. Now the Mariinsky palace is a residence of the President for the high-rank person reception.

Kyiv’s main downtown thoroughfare, Khreshchatyk, located considerably close to the Conference palace. This is a place of all festive events: parades, festivals, concerts, and celebrations. Needless to say, Khreshchatyk is everyone’s favorite place to stroll on the weekends and listen to street musicians, watch performances by mimes, dancers and caricature artists. In the middle of the Khreshchatyk is the Square of Independence – the main square of the Ukrainian capital. The streets disperse from the Square fan-shapely and lead to the Prince Hill. Their conformation is preserved from the ancient times.

“The city of 200 churches”, “the city of golden domes” and “the Jerusalem of the lands of Rus” – these words used foreign merchants to describe Kyiv and the glory and splendor in eastern and western lands.

In 988, Prince Volodymyr the Great baptized Ancient Rus into Christianity in Kyiv. According to legend, he laid the foundation to the first Christian temple in Kyiv, the Desyatynna Church. Monument to Grand Kyiv’s Prince Volodymyr was founded in 1853. It stands on Volodymyr’s Hill, and towers up 70m height above the Dnipro. One of the best panoramas of city opens from this place. “From here start the lands of Ancient Rus…” were engraved on the monument.

On the top of Volodymyr’s Hill was erected St. Michael’s Monastery of the golden domes. The monastery was founded in 1108. Today, the complex of monuments of St. Michael’s Monastery of the golden domes includes the Bell Tower (1716-1720), a stone wall (middle of the 18th), and the Refectory (1713). At present it is a working monastery.

Out of the walls of the St. Michael’s Monastery there is a monument to the victims of the Famine, which is always covered with fresh flowers. It is also a monument to the Grand Princess Olga on Mykhailivskiy Square. The applied material is the white Italian marble. The famous Kyivan princess is surrounded by statues of Apostle Andrew and the creators of the Cyrillic alphabet saints Cyrill and Mephody.

There is a beautiful Cathedral not far from the Michael's Monastery. The solemn laying of the foundation stone of St. Nicholas Cathedral took place in August of 1899, whereupon group of Catholics turned to Kyiv's governor-general with a petition to get the permission for the construction of cathedral “in commemoration of staying in Kyiv tsar Nikolay II”. By that time in Kyiv already was one Roman Catholic cathedral – Alexandr’s Cathedral, but taking into account that in Kyiv lived about 40 thousands of Catholics it was obviously not enough. The cathedral had been constructed for 10 years on the donations of private persons. It was spent about 500 thousands rubles in general. For the project of the cathedral the competition was announced. The winner became a student Stanislav Volovskiy. In as much as young engineer had lacked practical experience, the revision and building supervision was entrusted to famous Kyiv architect - Vladislav Gorodetskiy. The construction works dragged out because of poor ground condition, that’s why, for the first time in Kyiv, the soil was strengthen by mighty cast-in-place concrete piles. Raised cathedral became real architectural masterpiece and was consecrate on the 6 December 1909. During the USSR times, when religion considered to be detrimental and unfavorable, cathedral was closed for public worship, in the beginning of World War II in the building was placed state regional archives. Only in 1980 in the year of Olympic Games the cathedral was restored and opened like an organ and chamber music hall. The organ was constructed specially for this hall. When creating an instrument masters tried as much as possible to approach its look to the architectural style of the cathedral, this joined the unique architecture and unique instrument. Organ has 55 spots, 3945 organ-pipes of various diameter(from 13 mm to 6 meters) made from metal and precious wood..

The great St. Sophia Cathedral is situated opposite to St. Michael’s Monastery. This temple was founded in 1036, in commemoration of the victory over the Pecheneg tribe. The cathedral became a major cultural and political center of Kyivan Rus and a sate for receiving ambassadors from many countries. In 1050, in this church was matchmaking ceremony of the French queen Anna, the daughter of Kyiv’s Prince Yaroslav. The Bell Tower of Sophia Monastery (1699-1706) is 76 meters high; its bell tower’s dome surface (about 600 sq.m.) was gilded with about 4kg of pure gold. At present it is a museum. The St. Sophia Cathedral is famous for it original mosaic (XI century), and approximately 3000 sq.m. of the frescoes dated for the same period.

The ancient legend tells, that Apostle Andrew visited Dnipro hills in 51s year before B.C. He hoisted the Cross on the hill and prophesied about the great city and that Christian faith will shine in this place. On this place in 1754 a stone Andrew’s Church was built and street was named Andriyvsky Uzviz. This street is a favorite place for outdoor fairs, festivals, and concerts. Art galleries, shops and studios make Andriyvsky Uzviz the best place to shop for Ukrainian crafts and art-works. There are galleries, exhibitions and different museums located here. St. Andrew Church XVIII century architecture pearl dominates this street. Height of the church is 60 m, the external and internal decoration surpasses all imagination. This five-domed church remains the major adornment of the upper city.

Within 3 km from the city you can find the Museum of Folk Architecture and Life of Ukraine. The museum, one of the largest open-air museums in the world, is situated in a picturesque area totaling 150 acres. It is designed to reflect the landscape and the architectural style of the wooden buildings and village life of different Ukrainian regions. The buildings include peasants' houses, churches, windmills, farm structures along with village utensils and household furnishing which were brought from different parts of Ukraine in their original form and appearance and placed on a territory that reflects a miniature geographic diorama of Ukraine. The museum includes more than 70,000 ethnographic antiquities. There are many local taverns that offer fantastic Ukrainian traditional dishes, such as borsch and varenyky of a hundred kinds.

This is only a brief list of primary historical and architectural monuments of the capital of Ukraine. In Kyiv you can feel the spirit of the past everywhere. The majestic Dnipro River, museums and architectural monuments, ancient churches and monasteries, vast recreational areas and beaches, friendly people - these are the things that make the Ukrainian capital so special and attractive.

We hope that you will enjoy your culture improvement in understanding of ethnical constituent of the Slavonic culture.

Welcome to Ukraine and to one of the most beautiful
cities of Europe!

Contact information:

Mail Address:

Murmanska, 1 Kyiv 02094 Ukraine


Tel. 38-044-573-27-05

Fax. 38-044-573-25-52

Contact webmaster:

Designed by BPCI web-studio